Skip navigation


So, if you have read my earlier posting, we have established that a crossroads has been reached. And now, having reached these crossroads, I understand that the journey was not as important as is the discovery of myself once I had arrived. So focused was I on making the right decision, choosing the right path, that I failed to consider what sort of reality would greet me once I had reached this moment of truth.

For twenty plus years I spent each day wondering if I would get the chance to rediscover a few individuals from my past. I wondered if they would allow me an audience with them if I were to get that chance at rediscovery. I never entertained the idea that anyone else was wondering the same about me. And as is normal in my life, just recently I have been flooded with opportunities of rekindling whatever with many different people from many different times in my past. The unions have been mainly due to and a result of facebook.

One thing for which I wasn’t prepared was learning that my perceptions and memories of the time I shared with these individuals do not match theirs. And I’m left wondering if we saw things differently “back then”, or has the passing of time warped our perceptions in different and opposing directions?

Another thing that “caught me off guard”, but a pleasant thing, is that it has been easier, this second time around, interacting with these folks, because we know how the first chapter ended. We may not know if we are writing the end of the next chapter or the end of the story, but there is a comfort of sorts from knowing what we did together in the first chapter. And yet, it feels awkward at times, because I’m learning who these people have become during this long separation, but I am unable to disassociate them from who they were.

Perhaps I just need to understand that even though we can’t go back to the time of who we were, who we were is the core of who we are.

Share your thoughts.

thoughtsandbrownies

Turning pages while writing

Infinity

Mustafah's Blog

Gorgeous

Ramblings from a disturbed mind ©2013 Cho Wan Yau

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma